4 Worth-It Wines from The Vault Wine Bar

This week I visited The Vault Wine Bar in Shelby, Ohio.  This was definitely a review that I was looking forward to because I’ve never been here and heard nothing but great things about it.

First, let’s explain the name.  As I was driving through downtown Shelby trying to find this place, I was a little confused because I was looking for just a winery-type building.  I found myself arriving at a bank.  The Vault is located in and old bank building downtown, which is VERY cool in my opinion.

I walked in on a Wednesday night (Wine Wednesday, of course) and sat down at the bar.  I took a minute to take in the atmosphere:  tall ceilings, modern decor, small tables with candles on them, and a decent number of people for a Wednesday night.  I was immediately greeted by a smiling face from the bartender.

I mentioned to the bartender that I was working on a review of The Vault for my blog.  She promptly suggested their most-ordered red and white wines. Now to the good stuff, the four wines that I sampled and their reviews…

19 Crimes – Red Blend

file_0001

  • Taste:  8/10
  • Color:  Mid/Deep Red
  • Sweet or Dry:  Semi-Sweet
  • Flavor Profile:  “a blend of Shiraz, Grenache, and Mataro”
  • Region:  Australia
  • Price:  $5 per glass, $19 per bottle

Seven Daughters – Moscato

File_001(1).jpeg

  • Taste:  7/10
  • Color:  Light/Clear Yellow
  • Sweet or Dry:  Super Sweet (So sweet that I lowered the taste rating)
  • Flavor Profile:  “lightly sparkling with a fruit forward style”
  • Region:  Italy
  • Price:  $5.50 per glass, $19 per bottle

Terre d’Oro – Zinfandel

File_000.jpeg

  • Taste:  6/10
  • Color:  Mid/Deep Red
  • Sweet or Dry:  VERY Dry
  • Flavor Profile:  an abundance of plums and flavors of dense, juicy blackberries (I thought it tasted pretty oak-like)
  • Region:  Amador County, California
  • Price:  $9 per glass, $31 per bottle

Santa Cristina – Pinot Grigio

file_0041

  • Taste:  9/10
  • Color:  Light/Clear Yellow
  • Sweet or Dry:  Medium-Dry
  • Flavor Profile:  orange flowers, bananas, and tropical fruit
  • Region:  Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy
  • Price:  $6 per glass, $23 per bottle

Final Thoughts

I could go on and on about The Vault Wine Bar forever.  From the wine itself, to the atmosphere, to the knowledgeable and friendly bartenders – I really enjoyed my visit and I highly recommend this to all who enjoy wine.  Even if wine isn’t your thing, they have a large variety of other drinks including draft beers, bottled beers, and non-alcoholic options.  They also offer an impressive food menu (I’m definitely trying the Caprese Pizza next time!).  So, if you ever find yourself in Shelby, Ohio, I definitely recommend stopping by The Vault Wine Bar for a glass or two.

Happy Wining! 😉

Leave a Reply

